A Mother’s Thoughts

Mother’s Day has come and passed like the ones before and the ones to come.  The dinners and the gifts, the hugs and the smiles.  Each and every one a blessing onto its own.

As I age and as my children age I appreciate the gift of motherhood more and more all the time.  My children, by society’s definition are grown adults.  I’m not the type of mother who doesn’t want who children to grow and spread their wings, I am however, a mother and I catch glimpses of my little girl and my little boy in my now adult children.

What brings me the most joy is the wonderful adults they have become.  My heart just about explodes wide open when I sit back and listen to them talk or watch them  interacting with others.  Moreover, it is not my children alone, it is also their cousins, and their friends whom I have also had the honor of watching grow up.

I’ll be honest, there was a time, well and frankly, I still am a little scared to death of how this next generation is going to handle this world and the responsibilities that come with it.  Then I take a deep breath and remember my parents had that same fear just as their parents did.

At the same time, I also know that children will live what they know and they know what they learn, so we as parents need really think hard if we are going to be proud of the adults our children grow up to be.  I believe it is easy to forget we are raising the generation that will be taking care of us when we are old.

Leave a Reply

